Sweet Potato Pasta Thingy

Yup, that’s what we had for dinner tonight.  A sweet potato pasta thingy.  Here’s the thing, my stomach has been working against me lately.  As in, I haven’t really been able to stray from the bathroom for an extended period of time the past couple of days.  I’ve also been traveling and eating a larger amount of meat than usual the past weekend.  And as we all know (or most of you, anyway), I’m allergic to meat.  Good times.

ANYWAY.  I haven’t made it to the store since last week, and I didn’t want to eat anything with meat tonight.  This didn’t leave me with a lot of options, so I decided to just wing it.  I surfed for some ideas on how to use what I had on hand, and this is what I came up with.

Sweet Potato Pasta Thingy

2-3 sweet potatoes
olive oil
Salt
Pepper
a box of pasta (I used penne)
3-4 cloves of garlic
Italian seasoning
Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400.  Peel sweet potatoes and cut them to about 1″ pieces.  Put the pieces in a baking dish, coat with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and stick it in the oven for about 45 minutes or until soft.

Boil water, add a few pinches of salt, and make the pasta.

While the pasta is boiling, chop, press, or mince garlic.  Heat a small saute pan over medium-lowish heat, and add some olive oil.  Add the garlic and saute till it’s golden brown but not burned.  Take off heat and add a few sprinkles of Italian seasoning.

Drain pasta, add olive oil/garlic concoction.  Mash the sweet potatoes with a potato masher.  Put the pasta in a bowl/on a plate/however you eat it, scoop some sweet potatoes on top, and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Voila!  A tasty vegetarian dish that’s fairly good for you!

Published in: on August 21, 2008 at 1:10 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://drunkencooker.wordpress.com/2008/08/21/sweet-potato-pasta-thingy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nummy!!

  2. Sounds good!


Leave a Reply

