Red Velvet Cupcakes and Cream Cheese Frosting

These are really really bad for you, just warning you now.  My mom gave me this recipe and I’ve no idea where she got it.  It might have been one of my grandma’s?  I’ve no idea.  All I know is, it makes me happy.

CUPCAKES:

2 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup unsalted butter softened
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
2 1/2 tablespoon cocoa powder
2 ounces red food coloring
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup buttermilk
2 oz water
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon white vinegar

CREAM CHEESE FROSTING:
1 (8oz) package cream cheese
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

MAKE CUPCAKES:
–pre heat oven to 350
–grease 12 cupcake cups or line with paper liners
–cream softened butter and sugar together till fluffy
–add eggs and blend well
–in seperate small bowl combine cocoa and food coloring and stir. Once you have thick paste then add to mixture.
–sift salt and flour together into mixture
–add vanilla, buttermilk, and water to mixture
–in seperate small bowl combine vinegar and baking soda. Fold into cake mixture
–pour mixture into cupcake cups.
–bake 15 to 20 minutes or until a wood toothpick inserted into middle of cupcake comes out clean.
–let cool for 10 minutes. Then turn out onto rack and let finish cooling.

MAKE FROSTING:
–blend together cream cheese softened and butter softened.
–add powder sugar and vanilla extract
–blend till smooth

One thing I sometimes do differently is to make mini cupcakes.  You know those mini-muffin pans?  Yeah, I use those and make teeny tiny cupcakes that amount to one or two bites.  I find that they’re better for get-togethers because they’re so portable and less crumb-y than regular sized ones, and the frosting to cake ratio is better because I loves me some cream cheese frosting.

Published in: on September 9, 2008 at 1:06 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://drunkencooker.wordpress.com/2008/09/09/red-velvet-cupcakes-and-cream-cheese-frosting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’d never heard of red velvet until i started reading food blogs, I really must try it sometime


Leave a Reply

