Dutch Oven Pot Roast

It’s officially damn cold here in Texass and I’ve been craving some serious comfort food.  Enter: pot roast.  My friend Heather posted a recipe for it ages ago and it seemed easy enough, so I thought I’d give it a go.  Oh. My. God.  SO GOOD! And so EASY!  My alterations are in parenthesis:

Dutch Oven Pot Roast

5 lbs. round bone pot roast (I used about 3lbs)
2 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. shortening (I used butter, I wasn’t buying Crisco just for this)
1/2 cup barbecue sauce
1/2 cup apple cider (I used Costco brand apple juice)
8 carrots, pared, peeled, and cut into 2 inch chunks (we used a half a bag of baby carrots)
6 large potatoes, peeled and quartered (Yukon Gold tates)
2 onions, sliced
8 oz. fresh okra (I’m not a fan, so I used a few handfuls of white mushrooms instead)

1. Rub meat with salt.

2. Melt shortening in Dutch oven; add meat and cook over medium heat, turning once. (I did about 3 minutes a side)

3. Reduce heat, pour barbecue sauce and cider over meat.

4. Cover and simmer on top of range or in 325° oven for 3-4 hours. (I put it in the oven)

5. Add carrots, potatoes, and onions 1 1/2 hours before end of cooking time.

6. Add okra (mushrooms) 15 minutes before end of cooking time.

I think I started it around 3 and we ate around 7, so it was in there for a good 3.75 hours or so.  And it was PERFECTLY done.  We finished off the leftovers tonight and I still want more!  Next time (oh, there WILL be a next time) I’m making a bigger roast.

Published in: on December 17, 2008 at 3:59 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://drunkencooker.wordpress.com/2008/12/17/dutch-oven-pot-roast/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. YAY! I’m glad you liked it!!


Leave a Reply

